Merge duplicate sections for instructors in your schools.
Duplicate sections can occur when Schoology syncs with your SIS and creates new sections that duplicate sections instructors previously created.
Before merging sections, ensure:
-
The source section cannot be synced with a SIS.
-
The destination section must not contain content.
-
The destination section must belong to your Enterprise account.
Merge sections
-
Select Courses and choose My Courses.
-
Select Merge Duplicate Sections.
-
In Select a User, enter the instructor's name and select it from the list.
-
Select Next.
-
Select the sections to merge.
-
Section Being Merged is the source section.
-
Destination Section is the section that will remain after the merge.
-
-
Select Merge.
Results of merging sections
-
The source section is permanently deleted after the merge is complete.
-
Content and student grades from the source section are transferred to the destination section.
-
Parent courses are not affected when sections are merged.
-
Privacy settings from the destination section overwrite the privacy settings of the source section.
-
Recycle Bin contents from the source section are retained in the destination section.
-
Student information, including grades, is preserved for students enrolled in both sections.
-
Discussion comments and user-uploaded file attachments from the existing source section are not transferred during a merge.