System Administrators can add new roles, clone existing roles, delete unused roles, and reorder how roles appear in menus.
Add a role
-
From Tools, select User Management.
-
Select Roles.
-
Click +Add Role
-
Enter a Role Name.
-
From Role Type, select an option.
-
Click Create.
All permissions are disabled by default. Configure permissions from the Permissions area of the Manage Users page.
Clone a role
Clone a role to create a copy with the same permissions as an existing role.
-
From Tools, select User Management.
-
Select Roles.
-
Click Clone for the role you want to copy. The new role displays at the end of the list.
-
Edit the name of the new role.
-
Click Save Changes.
Delete a role
You can only delete roles that have no assigned users. Before deleting a role, verify that no users are currently assigned to it by going to Manage Users and selecting Roles/Advanced. If users are assigned, reassign them to a new role before proceeding
-
From Tools, select User Management.
-
Select Roles.
-
Click the X for the role to delete.
-
Click Delete.
-
Click Save Changes.
Reorder roles
Role order determines how roles appear in menus throughout Schoology. The first four roles are also displayed on the Permissions page by default.
-
From Tools, select User Management.
-
Select Roles.
-
Click Drag to reorder for the role to move.
-
Drag the role to a new position.
-
Click Save Changes.